L’Estate di San Martino were born in 1975, and among their current members we have Marco Pentiricci, multi-instrumentalist, one of the founders of a band that has a long and complex history. After releasing only one single in 1978, L’Estate di San Martino split up and then reformed years later after the discovery of a 1983 concert recording, which was included in “Alder” (2006, AMS106CD); they first proper full-length “Febo” (2007, AMS128CD) eventually saw the light of day, while their second album “Talsete di Marsantino” (2012, AMS203CD / AMSLP60) was then revisited in an acoustic key in “ESM # 40” in 2015 (AMS256CD).

Seven years therefore separate the band’s previous release from this excellent ‘electric’ return, a new concept album inspired by a news story that really happened: the attempt to hibernate a 23-year old American girl sick with cancer, and to awaken her in the distant future in which she could finally recover from an illness that is still today often incurable.

To address issues such as Darwinism, transhumanism, the eternal contrast between religion and science and the ultimate limit to which the latter can be pushed, L’Estate di San Martino has decided to move their sonic coordinates towards a modern progressive rock, almost free of old acoustic sections but full of various electronic injections. This stylistic evolution has been marked by Andrea Pieroni’s new presence in the line-up, a singer with a warm and expressive tone that gives an edge to a musically flawless album. Welcome back!

Available as 180gr. black vinyl edition with 4-page 30x30cm booklet and papersleeve CD with three ghost tracks.

Tracklist LP:
A1 Cretto 3:12
A2 Sul prato 4:38
A3 Inanna 5:12
A4 Gocce 6:05
A5 Libera 3:14
A6 Il Ciclope 1:29
B1 Il monaco Pierre 4:05
B2 Immaginami 7:13
B3 Caleidoscopio 9:32
B4 Tewar 2:05

Tracklist CD:
1 Cretto 3:20
2 Sul prato 4:43
3 Inanna 5:46
4 Gocce 6:09
5 Libera 5:47
6 Il Ciclope 1:29
7 Il monaco Pierre 4:08
8 Immaginami 7:14
9 Caleidoscopio 9:32
10 Tewar (+ ghost tracks) 11:01

* * *

Click on the following links to buy the 180gr. black vinyl LP or the papersleeve CD version on btf.it.