LAPERA – L’Acqua Purificatrice

As the influential JJ Martin writes on his blog At first music almost seems like a curious mix between I Giganti and Delirium: from the first have been cloned the recitatives and from the second their typical sound from “Lo scemo e il villaggio” to “Delirium III”. From a certain point, however, we also have a massive orchestral presence, halfway between the most symphonic Lucio Battisti and New Trolls’ “Concerto Grosso No. 1”. All of this is then topped off with 4+4 Nora Orlandi’s choirs, or those used in Ivano Fossati’s first LP.

The description is very precise and appropriate, with all references put in the right place. But I would like to add one little thing. In my opinion, joining in a totally bold and original way all the features mentioned above, Tirelli brothers have managed to create a very special album in the history of Italian progressive rock. To masterfully juxtapose different musical inspiration is one big thing, but instilling everything in this context one’s own strong temperament, thanks to beautiful musical compositions, is a completely different story. “L’Acqua Purificatrice” is in fact a record cloaked in beautiful music, with strong melodies, angry, humorous and poignant vocals, highly symphonic sections combined with other ones highly rhythmic and engaging, creating an intriguing blend of funky and prog.

Heard today, Tirellis’ LP is a total immersion in a pleasant ‘70s atmosphere, that doesn’t sound dated at all. Indeed, it is precisely this mood, amplified by certain sounds and the science fiction / social content of the lyrics, to make this record one of its kind. Often unknown to most people, it deserves to be rediscovered: the only release by Lapera still retains today its charm, and remains one of my favorite releases from the Italian musical panorama of the Seventies.

(Fabio Zuffanti)

1.Il mattino del giorno dopo
2.L’acqua purificatrice 1a parte
4.L’acqua purificatrice 2a parte
7.La bottega dei desideri
8.Supplica della vita all’uomo
10.Tentativo d’evasione
11.Crepuscolo (Tace)
12.Il mattino del giorno dopo (Il risveglio del cieco Tobia)
13.Omaggio al sole
14.Gran finale

Acquista questo CD su