ASIA MINOR – Points of Libration

AMS Records is very proud to welcome the return of the newly reformed ASIA MINOR with a new studio record: “Points of Libration”, Asia Minor’s third opus, will be a new flagship for AMS, whose catalogue already hosts foreign bands such as All Traps on Earth, or celebrities from the seventies as Raccomandata Ricevuta Ritorno, Locanda delle Fate and Maxophone.

Asia Minor is a Franco-Turkish progressive rock band led by two Turkish musicians who settled in Paris as students back in the ’70s: Setrak Bakirel (vocals & guitar) and Eril Tekeli (flute & guitar). Their early music revealed influences such as King Crimson’s “In the Court of the Crimson King”, Jethro Tull’s “Stand Up”, Camel, Focus and Jade Warrior’s first albums. Their brilliant Progressive Rock is deeply mixed with rhythms and atmospheres from traditional Turkish music. “Crossing the Line” (1979) and “Between Flesh and Divine” (1980) are generally considered as some of the best international successes for the genre. Beautiful themes, strong and original, are intertwined with subtle arrangements, enhanced by a nostalgic and soulful singing. The nervous and airy flute parts underline the guitar raucous and lyrical notes. A melancholic and sometimes furious music, with lyrics mainly sung in English – and occasionally in Turkish.

Spurred by the unwavering support from fans around the world, the band decided to reconvene in 2013, giving live concerts and composing new music that would be featured in their forthcoming third album. Keeping the band’s distinctive mix between Western & Eastern influences, this new work proves that, even after so many years, Asia Minor remain faithful to their style and nothing of their creativeness, stamina and originality has been lost. In addition to the two original members, the current line-up includes Evelyne Kandel on bass, Micha Rousseau on keyboards and Julien Tekeyan on drums.

Available as 180gr. turquoise coloured vinyl with bonus sticker and papersleeve CD.

Tracklist LP:

Side A:
1.Deadline of a Lifetime
2.In the Mist
3.Crossing in Between
4.Oriental Game

Side B:
1.The Twister
2.Melancholia’s Kingdom
3.Urban Silk
4.Radio Hatirasi

Tracklist CD:

1.Deadline of a Lifetime
2.In the Mist
3.Crossing in Between
4.Oriental Game
5.The Twister
6.Melancholia’s Kingdom
7.Urban Silk
8.Radio Hatirasi

Click on the following links to buy this record in the following formats:
LP (Limited edition on coloured vinyl) | CD papersleeve | Digital