ASIA MINOR – Between Flesh and Divine


“Between Flesh and Divine” is the second album by Asia Minor, a cult band of the progressive rock scene founded by two Turkish students living in Paris, Setrak Bakirel and Erik Tekeli, who are still part today of the line-up that has recently released, yet on AMS Records, the album “Points of Libration” (2021, AMSLP164 / AMS326CD).

“Between Flesh and Divine” was released in 1980 but does not seem at all affected by all the music trends of that era – new wave, punk, dance, electronic music – and indeed, like very few other LP’s from the same period, it kept alive the flame of the ‘real’ progressive rock of the early ’70s sound, which had almost completely vanished year by year. Asia Minor’s love towards King Crimson, Genesis and Camel is manifested at the highest levels in the grooves of “Between Flesh…”, by many called a real masterpiece in the light of what has been said and the evocative force of a music out of time, where Erik Tekeli’s flute melodies and Robert Kempler’s keyboards stand out above all.

An album that still needs to be rediscovered, which unfortunately was basically ignored at the time of its release – the band disbanded to reform almost forty years later! – and that is probably still missing in many prog-rock fans’ music libraries. Essential.

Available as 180gr. turquoise vinyl and as papersleeve CD with extended artwork, enriched by new illustrations especially made for the occasion by Anouch Bakirel. Audio remastered in June 2021 at Dominique Blanc-Francard’s Labomatic Studios.

Tracklist LP:
A1 Nightwind 6:26
A2 Northern Lights 7:46
A3 Boundless 3:11
B1 Dedicace 6:12
B2 Lost in a Dream Yell 7:41
B3 Dreadful Memories 2:51

Tracklist CD:
1 Nightwind 6:26
2 Northern Lights 7:46
3 Boundless 3:11
4 Dedicace 6:12
5 Lost in a Dream Yell 7:41
6 Dreadful Memories 2:51